BailongBall Forms – an Example, Part 4

In this series of blogs, we introduce you to BailongBall Forms. After having launched respective series on the disciplines of Multiplay and Freestyle, this series covering the discipline Forms, aims to complete your picture of our sport. The series breaks down a particular BailongBall Form into several parts. In each part, we show you round about two elements. At the end of the last part, you will have covered the Form and you will pick up tips and tricks while progressing from one part to the next.

In the first part of this series, we explain what sets Forms apart from the other BailongBall disciplines. We introduce the preparatory element of a particular form, followed by a second element, called “The Mirror”. In part two we cover elements three and four – the “Horizontal Turn” and the “Cloud Hands”. Part 3 features a variant for changing directions, as well as the “Dynamic 8”. As with the first three parts, this part will also introduce two new elements. And again, we pick up exactly where we left off the time before.

Ending with last part’s “Dynamic 8”, we now follow up with “Mirror & Release Ball”. This element is executed 3 times in one direction, then we change direction and execute it 3 times in the other direction. This part’s second element is a very elegant change of direction, the “Rainbow Turn”. The components in a short:
  • Mirror & release ball (to the right from the camera perspective)
  • Change of direction
  • Mirror & release ball (to the left from the camera perspective)
  • Rainbow Turn
And here are the details:

“Mirror & Release Ball”

Left to Right

Footwork

A few tips for Mirror & Release Ball:
  • To initiate each Mirror (circle), lower your weight while bending your knees slightly – this will get you the momentum you need.
  • Move both arms in large parallel circles.
  • Your body’s center of gravity follows the racket – as the racket swings from right to left, you also shift your weight from the right to the left leg and vice versa.

Change of Direction

Footwork

A few tips for changing direction:
  • Place your feet together to initiate the 180° turn
  • Perform the turn immediately after letting the ball out while the ball is still in the air

Right to Left

“Rainbow Turn”

The Rainbow Turn move is actually just a 180° turn, but a very emphasized one for that. In this element, the full extension of the arms to both sides and the formation of a large circle with the arms provide an elegant effect. At the same time, you stretch your “racket-free” hand forward – twice (when initiating the turn and upon completing it). In detail, the element is composed of the following:
  • Pull both arms towards you when catching the ball.
  • Stretch your “racket-free hand” forward while moving the racket and the foot of your “racket-free side” backward.
  • In a “propeller motion” you now turn the “racket-free arm” over the upper half of your body to the other side, while the “racket arm” swings over the lower half of your body in the opposite direction up to body level.
  • During the propeller motion, you pivot on the toes of your foot on your “racket-free side” and on the heel of the foot on your “racket side”.
  • While the racket is moving downwards, move the “racket-free hand” upwards to chest level and pull the foot of your “racket-free side” parallel to the foot, slightly touching the ground with your toes.
  • Now push your free hand completely forward and at the same time push your free foot completely backward.

Footwork

Some tips:
  • Stretch during the rotation and enhance the elegance in the movement by expanding slowly
  • Perform the rotation slowly as well – this way you keep full body control during the movement and at the same time emphasizing the graceful circular movement.

The Elements in One Sequence

So, let us have a look at this part’s elements in one sequence, at original speed:

In the next of the final two parts of our series we will present a combination of movements with a change of direction. You can even use one element of the combination in multiplay. Here is a brief look behind the curtain:

Your putting your elements together to form a whole – you are almost there 🙂

Olga Ardasheva
BailongBall Instructor

5 thoughts on “BailongBall Forms – an Example, Part 4

  1. Pingback: BailongBall Formen – ein Beispiel, Teil 5 - Bailong Ball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bailongball Formen – ein Beispiel, Teil 4

In dieser Blog-Serie führen wir Dich in die BaillongBall Formen ein. Nachdem wir bereits Serien zu den Disziplinen Multiplay und Freestyle gestartet haben, möchten wir mit der Disziplin Form Dein Bild zu diesem Sport vervollständigen. Diese Serie unterteilt dafür eine Form in verschiedene Abschnitte, die jeweils so um die zwei Elemente beinhalten. Am Ende des letzten Teils hast Du dann das komplette Bild zur Form und eignest Dir dabei jede Menge Tipps und Tricks an.

In unserem ersten Teil der Serie haben wir erklärt, was Formen von den anderen BailongBall Disziplinen unterscheidet. Von der vorgestellten Form haben wir dann das einleitende Element, sowie ein zweites Element, „den Spiegel“, vorgestellt. Im zweiten Teil haben wir die Elemente drei und vier behandelt – die horizontale Drehung und die Wolkenhände. Der dritte Teil behandelt eine Variante des Richtungswechsels, sowie die „dynamische 8“. Wie in den ersten drei Teilen, werden wir auch diesmal wieder zwei Elemente vorstellen. Auch dieses Mal beginnen wir genau an der Stelle, bei der wir im letzten Teil aufgehört haben.

Am Ende der „dynamischen 8“ des letzten Teils, folgt nun der „Spiegel mit Ball rauslassen“. Zunächst wird das Element 3x in eine Richtung ausgeführt. Gekoppelt an eine weiteren Variante des Richtungswechsels folgen dann 3 Ausführungen in die andere Richtung. Abgeschlossen wird dieser Teil dann mit einem sehr eleganten Richtungswechsel, der „Regenbogendrehung“. Die Komponenten kurz zusammengefasst:

  • Spiegel mit Ball rauslassen (aus Kamerasicht nach rechts)
  • Richtungswechsel
  • Spiegel mit Ball rauslassen (aus Kamerasicht nach links)
  • Regenbogendrehung

Und hier die Details:

„Spiegel mit Ball rauslassen“

Spiegel von links nach rechts

Spiegel – Fuß- und Beinarbeit

Ein paar Tipps zum Spiegel mit Ball rauslassen:

  • Zur Einleitung jedes Spiegels (Kreises), senke Dein Gewicht ab und gehe dabei leicht in die Knie – damit holst du den notwendigen Schwung
  • Führe beide Arme in großen parallelen Kreisen
  • Der Schwerpunkt deines Körpers folgt dem Racket – beim Schwung des Rackets von rechts nach links, verlagerst du auch dein Gewicht vom rechten auf das linke Bein und umgekehrt

Richtungswechsel

Richtungswechsel – Fuß- und Beinarbeit

Ein paar Tipps zum Richtungswechsel:

  • Stelle deine Füße zusammen, um eine 180° Drehung einzuleiten
  • Führe die Drehung direkt nach dem Ball rauslassen durch, während der Ball sich in der Luft befindet

Spiegel von rechts nach links

„Regenbogendrehung“

Bei der Regenbogendrehung handelt es sich eigentlich nur um eine 180° Drehung, allerdings um eine sehr betonte. In diesem Element wirkt vor allem die Ausdehnung der Arme zu beiden Seiten und das Formen eines großen Kreises mit den Armen. Dabei streckst Du Deine „Racket-freie“ Hand nach vorne – jeweils zum Einleiten der Drehung und zum Beenden. Im Detail setzt sich die Bewegung wie folgt zusammen:

  • Ziehe beide Arme an Dich, während Du den Ball einfängst
  • Strecke Deine „Racket-freie Hand“ nach vorne, während Du Racket und den Fuß Deiner „Racket-freien Seite“ nach hinten bewegst
  • In einer „Propellerbewegung“ drehst Du nun den „Racket-freien Arm“ über Deine Köperoberhälfte zur anderen Seite, während der „Racket-Arm“ über die untere Körperhälfte in die entgegengesetzte Richtung bis auf Körperhöhe schwingt
  • Für die Drehung in der Propellerbewegung pivotierst Du auf den Zehen des Fußes Deiner „Racket-freien Seite“ und auf der Ferse des Fußes Deiner „Racket-Seite“.
  • Während das Racket sich nach unten bewegt, bewegt Du die „Racket-freie Hand“ nach oben bis auf Brusthöhe und ziehst dabei den Fuß Deiner „Racket-freien Seite“ parallel zum Standfuß, dabei berühren die Zehenspitzen leicht den Boden
  • Nun schiebst Du Deine freie Hand ganz nach vorne und zeitgleich den freien Fuß ganz nach hinten

Bein- und Fußarbeit

Ein paar Tipps zu diesem Element:

  • Strecke Dich während der Drehung und verstärke durch die langsame Ausdehnung die Eleganz in der Bewegung
  • Führe die Bewegung langsam durch – damit behältst Du die volle Körperkontrolle während der Rotation und betonst gleichzeitig die graziöse Kreisbewegung

Alle Elemente dieses Teil in einem

Hier noch einmal die Elemente in ihrer Sequenz und Originalgeschwindigkeit:

Im nächsten und damit vorletzten Teil unsere Serie stellen wir eine Bewegungskombination mit Richtungswechsel vor. Ein Element der Kombination kannst Du sogar im Multiplay verwenden. Hier ein kleiner Vorgeschmack:

Aus Deinen Elementen formt sich ein Ganzes – Du bist fast da 🙂

Olga Ardasheva
BailongBall Instructor

4 Idee über “BailongBall Formen – ein Beispiel, Teil 4

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.