From White Belt to Black Belt – the BailongBall Grading System

In order to standardize and popularize BailongBall forms (Taolu), specialists from a number of sports organizations, such as Beijing Sports University (北体大), China Elderly Sports Association (老体协), Beijing National Traditional Sports Association (北京市民族传统体育协会) and others have developed a system of sports grades – Duanwei System, similar to what we find in Wushu.

Promotional video of the Beijing National Traditional Sports Association

Prof. Bai Rong

One of the scientific consultants of this system became Professor Bai Rong.

The grading system is comprised of nine grades (Duan), which in turn are grouped into three levels – “beginner”, “intermediate” and “advanced”. Every Duan corresponds to a certain color (white, red, orange, yellow, green, cyan, blue, purple, black), as well as to an emblem with the image of one of the four mythical animals (green dragon, white tiger, red bird, black turtle) or one of the five elements of the Chinese tradition (metal, wood, water, fire, earth).

Applicants for a certain grade must demonstrate the appropriate standard BailongBall forms (taolu), which are evaluated by a special expert commission. For example, for the 1st duan, it is necessary to perform a complex of 8 forms of BailongBall, for the 2nd duan – 8 forms and 16 forms, for the 3rd duan – 16 forms and 24 forms, for the 4th duan – 24 forms and 36 forms, etc.

All taolu are designed and composed by the Secretary General of Beijing BailongBall Association Tong Baomin. After successfully passing the exam, the applicant receives the grade certificate of assignment of the respective duan, along with a T-shirt of the corresponding color with an emblem and a wristband.

It should be noted that the conclusion of the successful passing of the exam is the ceremony of taking the oath. This ceremony is an important part of Chinese traditional etiquette and culture. With their oath, all graduates promise to actively participate in the development of BailongBall, protecting its cultural tradition. An interesting feature of the system is its philosophy based on Chinese spiritual traditions. Each Duan has its own inner meaning and spirit. They are described with special figurative phrases.

Beginner

LeveL

Duans

Intermediate

Level

Duans

Advanced

Level

Duans

Finally, consider an interesting illustrative table. Here we have summarized information about the correspondence of each duan to a certain color, symbol or element, as well as its inner sense and state of the spirit:

In one of out next posts, we’ll interview Irina to get first hand impressions on the program and the exam. Did we peak your interest? Just contact us.

Color your game and stay tuned 🙂

Irina Rusavina
BailongBall Instructor

Mike Ritz
BailongBall Trainer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Von weiß bis schwarz – das BailongBall Sportabzeichen

Um die BailongBall-Formen (Taolu) zu standardisieren und um ihre Verbreitung zu fördern, haben Spezialisten verschiedener Sportorganisationen unter anderem wie der Sport Universität Peking (北体大), des chinesischen Seniorensportverbands (老体协) ein System von Sportgraden – das Duanwei-System – entwickelt, das dem des Wushu ähnelt.
Werbe-Video des nationalen Verbands traditioneller Sportarten Peking

Prof. Bai Rong

Professor Bai Rong war einer der wissenschaftlichen Berater für dieses System.

Das Sportabzeichensystem besteht aus neun Graden (Duans), die zu drei Stufen zusammengefasst werden – Anfänger, Mittelstufe und Fortgeschrittene. Jeder Duan entspricht einer bestimmten Farbe (weiß, rot, orange, gelb, grün, cyan, blau, violett, schwarz) sowie einem Emblem mit dem Bild eines der vier Fabeltiere (grüner Drache, weißer Tiger, roter Vogel, schwarze Schildkröte) oder einem der fünf Elemente der chinesischen Tradition (Metall, Holz, Wasser, Feuer, Erde).

Bewerber für einen bestimmten Grad müssen die entsprechenden Standard-BailongBall-Formen (taolu) vorweisen, die von einer speziellen Expertenkommission bewertet werden. Zum Beispiel muss für den 1. Duan ein Komplex von 8 Formen des BailongBalls ausgeführt werden, für den 2. Duan – 8 Formen und 16 Formen, für den 3. Duan – 16 Formen und 24 Formen, für den 4. Duan – 24 Formen und 36 Formen usw.

Alle Taolus werden vom Generalsekretär des Pekinger BailongBallverbandes Tong Baomin entworfen bzw. zusammengestellt. Nach bestandener Prüfung erhält der Anwärter das Duan-Zertifikat, sowie ein T-Shirt in der entsprechenden Farbe mit einem Emblem und ein Armband.

Erwähnenswert ist übrigens auch das Ablegen eines Eides zum Abschluss einer bestandenen Prüfung. Diese Zeremonie ist ein wichtiger Teil der traditionellen chinesischen Etikette und Kultur. Alle Absolventen sprechen gemeinsam die Worte des Eides aus und versprechen, sich aktiv an der Entwicklung des BailongBalls zu beteiligen und seine kulturelle Tradition zu schützen. Ein interessantes Merkmal des Sportabzeichensystems ist seine Philosophie, die auf chinesischen spirituellen Traditionen beruht. Jeder Duan hat seine eigene innere Bedeutung und seinen eigenen Geist. Sie werden mit speziellen bildlichen Ausdrücken beschrieben.

Anfänger

Duan

Grade

Mittelstufe

Duan

Grade

Fortgeschrittene

Duan

Grade

Zum Abschluss, noch eine interessante Tabelle zur Veranschaulichung. Hier haben wir Informationen über die Entsprechung jedes Duans zu einer bestimmten Farbe, einem Symbol oder Element sowie über seinen inneren Sinn und seinen geistigen Zustand zusammengefasst:

In einem unserer nächsten Beiträge werden wir ein Interview mit Irina führen, um Eindrücke aus erster Hand über das Programm und die Prüfung zu erhalten. Haben wir Dich neugierig gemacht? Kontaktiere uns einfach.

Bring Farbe in Dein Spiel und bleib‘ dran 🙂

Irina Rusavina
BailongBall Instructor

Mike Ritz
BailongBall Trainer

Eine Idee zu “Von weiß bis schwarz – das BailongBall Sportabzeichen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.