BailongBall in Chinese Sports Science

Since its invention by Prof. Bai Rong 30 years ago, 柔力球 BailongBall has become an ever more popular sport in its originating country. It has also become a research object of Chinese sports science. In this article, I would like to introduce you to one of the Chinese scientists who has been studying our sport for more than two decades: Prof. Dr. Wang Hong (王宏), from the Institute of WuShu at Wuhan Sports University.

His chair covers the studies of the origin and development of WuShu (also known in the West as Martial Arts or Kungfu), as well as classical folk sports.

Prof. Dr. Wang Hong

has published more than 50 academic papers and several research papers on 柔力球 Bailongball. He is the author of two academic monographs and the textbooks “柔力球入门与提高 Rouliqiu Rumen Yu Tigao” (“Introduction and Improvement of Bailongball”) and “柔力球 Rouliball”. Both textbooks were published by Wuhan Sports University.

Since 2007, he has been active as the main referee in countless competitions within China for the discipline of “套路Soloplay / Artplay” and sits on many national committees deciding on the rules of the game. The highlight of his refereeing career was the nomination as main referee for the 柔力球 Bailongball discipline “套路 Choreo / Art” (also known as soloplay) at the 13th Chinese National Games 2017 in Tianjin.

Textbook „Introduction and Improvement of BailongBall“

Textbook “Rouliball”

For the first time, at the 13th Chinese National Games (see also here), the General Agency for Sports of the People’s Republic of China hosted two separate formats:

  • for competitive athletes (Olympic sports, 正式比赛项目 official competitions)
  • for amateur athletes (cultural-classic and popularly played sports, 群众比赛项目 amateur sports competitions).

柔力球 Bailongball had officially become an acknowledged competitive sport. In addition to 柔力球 Bailongball, 16 other sports, including climbing, roller skating, badminton, table tennis, dragon boat, marathon, air volleyball, go, xiangqi, chess, bridge, checkers, dragon dance, taijiquan, fitness qigong, cage football, air & sea model had also been acknowledged. The Chinese National Games are held every four years, and are considered the most important sporting event for Chinese athletes, along with the Olympic Games and Asian Games. The National Games feature athletes from the 13 provinces and 4 government-affiliated cities. Unfortunately, 柔力球 Bailongball was not re-nominated for the 14th Games in Shaanxi in 2021; also, among others, Fitness Qigong and Taijiquan were no longer classified as competitive sports, but rather as discpilines for demonstration purposes, performed by amateur athletes, while sports such as table tennis or dragon boat kept their competition status.

I would now like to present you the latest paper by Prof. Dr. Wang Hong in its original Chinese, as well as the German / English versions, automatically translated by www.deepl.com. His paper analyzes the cultural forces and conceptual changes of Rouliball (in China, editor’s note) through literature review, expert interviews and qualitative analysis to show the importance of culture in the development of BailongBall. As the chairman of TBBF, I was interviewed by Prof. Dr. Wang in August 2021. Unfortunately, due to the editorial restrictions of the journal, some content and tables could not be published. Let me know, if you would like to get in contact with Prof. Dr. Wang.

Here’s a note on translation: the automatic translation software is ingenious, but it often can’t (yet) correctly render subtle nuances in the wording, e.g. 柔力球 is translated as “softball”. Going by the official translation of each character, this would be: 柔=soft, supple, flexible; 力=power; 球=ball. But there is still no unified English naming for the sport 柔力球. As in other sports, names are tweaked over time, such as in 1896, when Mintonette became the volleyball we know today (source). Volleyball found its way to China about 10 years after renaming and was first dubbed 华利波 (Hualibo, should be phonetically similar to volleyball), was then called 队球 (Duiqiu, team+ball) and finally ever since 1921 became known as 排球 (Paiqiu, row+ball). The TBBF advocates a uniform international naming as well as wording for sport-specific technical terms and prefers the name 柔力球 Bailongball.

Have fun, your

Xiaofei Sui
TBBF Chairman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bailongball in der chinesischen Sportwissenschaft

Seit seiner Erfindung von Prof. Bai Rong vor 30 Jahren wird 柔力球 Bailongball in seinem Ursprungsland immer mehr zum Volkssport, der auch in der Sportwissenschaft als Forschungsobjekt herangezogen wird. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich Euch einen der chinesischen Wissenschaftler vorstellen, der sich seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten mit unserer Sportart wissenschaftlich auseinandersetzt: Hr. Prof. Dr. Wang Hong (王宏), vom Institut für WuShu an der Wuhan Sports University.

Sein Lehrstuhl befasst sich mit der Entstehung und Entwicklung von WuShu (im Westen auch als Kampfsport oder Kungfu bezeichnet), sowie klassische Volkssportarten.

Prof. Dr. Wang Hong

hat mehr als 50 akademische Arbeiten und mehrere Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema 柔力球 Bailongball veröffentlicht. Er hat zwei wissenschaftliche Monographien und die Lehrbücher „柔力球入门与提高  Rouliqiu Rumen Yu Tigao“ („Einführung und Verbesserung von Bailongball“) und „柔力球 Rouliball“ geschrieben. Letztere sind als Lehrbücher von der Wuhan Sports University veröffentlicht worden.

Seit 2007 ist er als Hauptschiedsrichter bei unzähligen Wettkämpfen innerhalb Chinas für die Disziplin „套路 Choreo / Art“ (auch als Soloplay bekannt) aktiv und sitzt in vielen nationalen Gremien für die Regelkunde. Den Höhepunkt seiner Schiedsrichterlaufbahn stellte die Nominierung als Hauptschiedsrichter für die 柔力球 Bailongball Disziplin „套路 Choreo / Art“ bei den 13. Chinesischen Nationalen Spielen 2017 in Tianjin dar.

Lehrbuch „Einführung und Verbesserung von BailongBall“

Lehrbuch „Rouliball“

Die Generalvertretung für Sport der Volksrepublik China hatte erstmalig zu den 13. Chinesischen Nationalen Spielen (siehe auch hier) die Ausrichtung von zwei getrennten Formaten etabliert:

  • für Leistungssportler/innen (Olympische Sportarten, 正式比赛项目 Offizielle Wettbewerbe) und
  • für Breitensportler/innen (kulturelle-klassische und von der Bevölkerung gespielte Sportartarten, 群众比赛项目 Breitensport Wettbewerbe)

柔力球 BailongBall wurde damit als Wettkampfsportart in den offiziellen Wettbewerb für Breitensportler/innen aufgenommen. Neben 柔力球 BailongBall wurden weitere 16 Sportarten, darunter Klettern, Rollschuhlaufen, Badminton, Tischtennis, Drachenboot, Marathon, Air Volleyball, Go, Xiangqi, Schach, Bridge, Dame, Drachentanz, Taijiquan, Fitness Qigong, Cage Football, Air & Sea Model als Breitensportler aufgenommen. Die Chinesischen Nationalen Spiele finden alle vier Jahre statt und gelten neben den Olympischen Spielen und den Asienspiele als das wichtigste Sportevent für chinesische Sportler/innen. Zugelassen sind Athleten/innen aus den 13 Provinzen und 4 regierungsunmittelbaren Städten. Leider wurde 柔力球Bailongball für die 14. Spiele in Shaanxi 2021 nicht wieder nominiert; auch wurde u.a. Fitness Qigong und Taijiquan nicht mehr als Wettbewerb, sondern als Vorführungsdisziplin für Breitensportler/innen klassifiziert, während Sportarten wie Tischtennis oder Drachenboot weiterhin als Wettbewerb stattfanden.

Ich möchte Euch nun den neusten Beitrag von Prof. Dr. Wang Hong im original Chinesischen und in den Versionen deutsch / english, automatisch übersetzt durch www.deepl.com, vorstellen. In seinem Beitrag werden die kulturellen Kräfte und konzeptionellen Veränderungen des Rouliballs (in China, Anm. d. Red.) anhand von Literaturrecherchen, Experteninterviews und qualitativen Analysen analysiert, um die Bedeutung der Kultur für die Entwicklung des BailongBalls aufzuzeigen. Als Vorsitzender des TBBF wurde ich im August 2021 durch Prof. Dr. Wang interviewt. Aufgrund der redaktionellen Beschränkungen des Journals konnten leider einige Inhalte und Tabellen nicht publiziert werden. Solltet Ihr den Kontakt zu Prof. Dr. Wang suchen, so wendet Euch bitte an mich.

Hier noch ein Hinweis zur Übersetzung: die automatische Übersetzungssoftware ist genial, doch kann sie oft feine Nuancen im Wortlaut (noch) nicht korrekt wiedergeben, so wird z.B. 柔力球 als „Softball“ übersetzt. Eine wörtliche Übersetzung der einzelnen Zeichen führt zu: 柔=sanft, geschmeidig, flexible; 力=Kraft; 球=Ball. Doch für die Sportart 柔力球 gibt es z.B. noch keine einheitliche englische Namensgebung. Wie auch in anderen Sportarten werden Namen im Laufe der Zeit optimiert. So wurde z.B. wurde im Jahre 1896 aus Mintonette die uns heute als Volleyball bekannte Sportart (Quelle). Volleyball fand ca. 10 Jahre nach Umbezeichnung den Weg nach China und wurde dort zuerst mit 华利波 (Hualibo, sollte dem Volleyball phonetisch ähneln), dann als 队球 (Duiqiu, Mannschaft+Ball) und schließlich seit 1921 bis heute unter etablierten Namen 排球 (Paiqiu, Reihe+Ball) tituliert. Der TBBF setzt sich für eine einheitliche internationale Namensgebung wie auch Wording für sportartspezifische Fachbegriffe ein und präferiert das Namenpaar 柔力球 Bailongball.

Viel Spaß wünscht,

Xiaofei Sui
TBBF Vorsitzender

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.